Publishing options for experiences

An experience's Publishing options panel allows you to define who can visit the experience, and allows you to enter the experience's Atlas listing information.

Opening the Publishing options panel

The Publishing options panel can be opened from two locations:

From the My Experiences panel

  1. While in the Atlas app, click Create to open the My Experiences panel. You may also access My Experiences from the App Launcher while visiting or editing an experience.
  2. Under your chosen experience in the My Experiences panel, click the Publishing options Publishing_options_button.png button.
My_experiences_-_Publishing_options.png
Click Publishing options Publishing_options_button.png to open the Publishing options panel.

While editing an experience

When editing an experience, click the Publish button on the toolbar to open the Publishing options panel.

Publish_button.png
Click the Publish button to open the Publishing options panel.

The Publishing options panel

The Publishing options panel contains two tabs: Who can visit and Atlas listing. Each panel contains important settings that allow you to control access to your experience and help others find it, respectively.

Who can visit

Publishing_options_-_Who_can_visit.png
The Who can visit tab of the Publishing options panel.

The Who can visit tab allows you to control who is allowed to visit your experience. The dropdown menu allows you to choose from the following options:

  • Everyone - Anyone can visit the experience, as long as they have not been banned.
  • Only the following - Allows you to select the checkboxes next to Friends and Guest list to allow your friends or specifically allowed guests, respectively.
  • Only me - Only you are allowed to visit the experience.

Banned users, defined in the list your provide, are never allowed to visit your experience.

Jeremy_s_workshop_-_private.png
If you have set your experience to only allow Friends or a Guest list, an icon appears on the experience's Atlas image to indicate that the experience is open to Friends or guests only.

Editing the guest list and banned list

To add someone to the guest list or banned list:

  1. Click Edit list next to Guest list or Banned users are never allowed to visit.
  2. In the Edit Guest List or Edit Ban List panel, click Add.
  3. In the Add Someone panel, type the user's full Avatar ID and click Search.
  4. Select a name from the search results and click Add selected.
  5. Repeat as many times as you like until all guests or banned users are added.
  6. Click Done to close the Add Someone panel.
  7. Click Save to save your list and close the Edit Guest List or Edit Ban List panel.

To remove someone from the guest list or banned list:

  1. Click Edit list next to Guest list or Banned users are never allowed to visit.
  2. In the Edit Guest List or Edit Ban List panel, select a name and click Remove.
  3. Click Save to save your list and close the Edit Guest List or Edit Ban List panel.

Atlas listing information

Publishing_options_-_Atlas_listing.png
The Atlas listing tab of the Publishing options panel.

The Atlas listing tab allows you to name your experience and provide a brief description and image for the Atlas. On this tab, you can provide the following listing information:

  • Hide this experience from the Atlas - If selected, this experience does not appear in the Atlas. Depending upon the options you selected on the Who can visit tab, you can still invite users to your experience by providing them with a direct URL.
    Note: If you plan to publish your experience in the Atlas by de-selecting Hide this experience from the Atlas, make sure that your experience conforms to the Atlas Publishing Guidelines and Linden Lab's Content Guidelines.
  • Experience name - Choose an appropriate name for your experience. Note that changing this name also changes the experience's URL, which can cause the previous URL to stop working. However, changing the name of the scene that the experience is linked to does not change the URL.
  • Description (required if published in Atlas) - Enter a brief description of the experience in the Description field. If you wish to include any tags, such as "Work in progress" or a last-updated timestamp, we recommend placing them in the description rather than the title. That way, when a tag is removed or changed the experience URL is unaffected.
  • Image (required if published in Atlas) - Select an appropriate image to represent your experience and draw the attention of potential visitors. Make sure to follow the guidelines set forth in the Atlas Publishing Guidelines.
Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.