Linking a scene to an experience

It is possible to link an existing experience to a different scene template after the experience has been created or after a linked scene is deleted from the experience. This can be used to easily update, back up, or completely change the content of an experience without breaking existing links to the experience or needing to publish a new experience to the Atlas.

Linking a scene

To link an existing experience to a new scene layout:

  1. Go to the My Experiences app.
  2. Select the experience that you want to link a scene to.
  3. Click More Options more_icon_sm.png for that experience entry in the My Experiences app, which opens a popup menu.
  4. In the popup menu, select Link to another scene.
    link01.png
    Select Link to another scene.

  5. This opens a dialog where you can link your experience to a new scene template. From the dropdown menu, choose a new scene template or choose 'no scene' if you want to unlink the current scene from the experience.
    link03.png
    Choose a scene from the dropdown menu.
    Note: See scene template tags below to know more about the tags: (unpublished) and (in use).
  6. Once you selected a scene to link, click Replace to change the scene template linked to the experience you are managing. 
    link04.png
    Click Replace

Scene template tags

Here is a list of tags that may be attached to your scene template in the scene dropdown menu:

  • (unpublished) - The selected scene must first be built before it can be used in an experience. You can build your scene in the Scene Editor. 
  • (in use) - If you choose a scene that is already linked to another experience, the scene is reassigned to the new experience and is unlinked from the older experience. 
  • (current) - The selected scene is the currently linked scene for this experience.
  • no tag - Unused scenes have no tags attached to the scene in the dropdown menu. 

 

Notes:

  • You can not link an experience to a scene template that is currently being edited. To link an experience to that scene, simply leave the scene that is being edited. 
  • An experience can only be linked to one scene at a time. However, it is possible to teleport between experiences using experience URLs and teleport scripts in order to transition from one scene to another without visiting the Atlas.
  • Likewise, each scene can only be linked to one experience at a time, but you may make a copy of a scene template by creating a new experience using the scene as the starting content.
  • If you attempt to link a second experience to a scene, the first experience becomes unlinked in favor of the new experience.

Creating an experience for a unused scene

To create an experience for an unused scene: 

  1. Go to the My Experiences app.
  2. Select the experience that you want to link a scene to.
  3. Click More Options more_icon_sm.png for that experience entry in the My Experiences app, which opens a popup menu.
  4. In the popup menu, select Create Experience.
    createexp01.png
    Select Create Experience.
  5. A dialog opens, which allows you to create an experience for the unused scene. Type a name for the new experience.
    createexp02.png
    Type a name for the new experience.
  6. Then, click the Create button. Once the scene is linked to an experience, you will then have the option to visit the experience and enter Atlas info for the experience. 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.